Honours Project Blog

Research into What Museums do to Market what they do.

spld-sticker

15 September 2016

Currently looking at what Museums do to attract visitors. In Dundee the V&A is currently under construction and this was a good point to start.

https://www.vam.ac.uk

I also looked at what the V&A were doing as far as podcasting was concerned. My initial thought was that this could have been an area to look at an opportunity to produce a podcast for this new venture in Dundee. My findings from my initial research was that this are was well covered and that podcasting was a marketing tool the V&A were currently using to an established item in the current portfolio.

http://www.vam.ac.uk/page/v/v-and-a-podcast

http://www.vam.ac.uk/blog/network/va-launches-series-free-podcasts

I looked for some additional information through various websites.

http://life-longlearner.com/podcast-marketing-strategies-to-grow-podcast/

https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/234239

Looking at how viewed blogs and podcasts gave me some insight.

researchnotepodcasting This document was really useful in helping in the understanding of where podcasting had come from in a relatively short period of time and where it fitted in in relation to tourism.

It is clear that opportunities in my first area of thought, The New Dundee V&A were going to be difficult to fulfill the requirements of the project. I researched other local museums. I came across a small local museum called Dundee Museum Of Transport.

dundee-transport-museum

 

23 September 2016

So the project aim had to be put in place. Having looked at what I was aiming to do I came up with the following.

“This Project aims to explore options in increasing engagement at visitor attractions in the Dundee area using podcasting, offering an addition resource and information.

I propose to investigate this by producing a test podcast series for one visitor attraction and interacting with listeners by survey, and an onsite / online competition with direct reference to the podcast for entry to additional incentives. Discussion and cross referral to visitor numbers for the same period for the previous two years, would give an indication to the increase in footfall as a result of the podcast being aired on the Internet.”

27 September 2016

Lecture with K McAlpine to discuss the project aim. I volunteered for my aim to be discussed.

A link to the audio of the discussion of my project aims are here.

Picture of board notes from the above lecture/tutorial

board-image-sept-16

I have been attending student support services on a weekly basis to undertake student study support. I am a dyslexic so have been using this study support to improve my writing skills.

I have also taken advantage of my family for support also with proof reading. Neither my wife of daughter have any subject knowledge but have been reading my work to offer any comment.

28 September 2016

After yesterdays discussion amendments were made to my aim for the project.

“This Project aims to explore options in increasing engagement at visitor attractions in the Dundee area using podcasting, offering an additional resource and information.

 

Although some local visitor attractions have podcast facilities in place, there remains the possibility of this service being expanded to cater for the needs of various groups including the visually impaired and those with specific learning difficulties.

 

I propose to investigate this by producing a test podcast series for one visitor attraction and interacting with listeners by survey, and an onsite / online competition with direct reference to the podcast for entry to additional incentives.

 

Discussion and cross referral to visitor numbers for the same period for the previous two years, would give an indication to the increase in footfall as a result of the podcast being aired on the Internet.”

02 October 2016

During the lecture it was identified that I would need to fill a skills gap in interviewing. I was able to arrange to attend a press conference at a football match between Hibernian and Dundee United at Easter Road Stadium Edinburgh. I prepared some questions during the game play and attended the post match interview.

At the post match interviews which are an all in media session with TV, Radio and written press here is the recordings with Dundee United Manager Ray McKinnon and Dundee United midfielder Scott Fraser. My role here was mainly observing however.

Ray McKinnon

//embeds.audioboom.com/posts/5364194-02-10-16-hibs-v-dundee-utd-press-conference-ray-mckinnon/embed/v4?eid=AQAAAMsjR1ji2VEA

Scott Fraser

//embeds.audioboom.com/posts/5364198-02-10-16-hibs-v-dundee-united-scott-fraser/embed/v4?eid=AQAAAAQkR1jm2VEA

I was also fortunate to get a press pass for the Dunhill Golf Championship being held at St Andrews, Carnoustie and Kingsbarns and managed to work on the interviewing skills again. There were many celebrities from film, music and sport along with the pro golfers. I drafted some rough questions and managed to ask some questions.

06-10-16-dunhill-questions

Michael Ballack (Former footballer)

//embeds.audioboom.com/posts/5364314-michael-ballack/embed/v4?eid=AQAAAF4oR1ha2lEA

Phoenix of rock band Linkin Park

https://audioboom.com/posts/5364324-phoenix-of-rock-band-linkin-park

This certainly helped with the skills gap in interviewing

Holiday Break 08/15 October 2016 so no research carried out.

18 October 2016

I was able to find out a contact from the internet for the Transport Museum and he was able to advise me on the new managers details. I drafted the following letter and e mailed it of to the generic e mail address I had been supplied with.

20-10-16-letter-to-dundee-museum-of-transport

I waited until 25 November for a response to this letter. I was a little unsure if the e mail had been received so attended the museum in the afternoon of 25 November. I met the manager who advised me that she had received the e mail and was going to reply, however as I was there, we had a short meeting where I outlined what my university project was all about and where i felt that it could offer something not currently being offered by the museum. It was explained to me that although the manager could see no issues with the project she would need to have it passed by the committee and asked that I send in a proposal

01 November 2016. Library visit.

I took some time out to look at some articles and information covering podcasting and social media. these articles were good for increasing knowledge.

01-11-16-acceptance-motivations-and-usage-of-social-media-as-a

01-11-16-engagement-across-three-social-media-platforms

01-11-16-how-public-relations-executives-perceive-and-measure-the-impact-of

01-11-16-use-of-social-media-for-corporate-communications-article

Letter sent to Transport Museum with proposal.

03-11-16-letter-to-dundee-museum-of-transportLetter to Transport Museum with accompanying proposal. 03-11-16-neil-bell-abertay-university-project-proposal-to-transport-museum

Project Ghantt chart and timeline

screenshot-10

08 November 2016 Submission of Honours Project Proposal

1502800_neilbell_art401_honours-project-proposal-0-001

22 November 2016 Reply E mail From Dundee Museum of Transport

22-11-16-transport-museum-reply

2017-event-dates

the-dundee-museum-of-transport-forward-plan-approved-2016-11

23 November 2016

One on One interview with Tommy Wright manager of St Johnstone FC

and the audio

https://audioboom.com/posts/5321923-neil-chats-to-st-johnstone-manager-tommy-wright

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

